Louis Louis Louis Louis!!! Why Louis Theroux and his weird weekends help put Autism in perspective!

Cat-in-the-Hat-Choice3

Have been watching a lot of Louis Theroux recently, not been sleeping too well so like to sneak downstairs and get my Louis fix, well that and paint my nails, but after what has now become known as, “The Nail Varnish Incident” I’ve decided its simpler, and frankly cheaper to watch Louis, rather than replace anymore sofas…

Last nights episode was on Plastic Surgery in the USA, now I’ve met a lot of Americans, and with one notable exception they have all been fab, and to be entirely fair the exception wasn’t a bad person, he just didnt know when to quit with the gold bling, it was a bit like dating Mr T.  But back to my point, the whole episode focused on how those involved felt that external changes, allowed them to make internal improvements. It was somewhat over-shadowed by the fact most of those who had what did appear to be quite extensive surgery, appeared to be trying to come to terms with internal struggles, and were choosing to do that by altering their external appearance, rather than perhaps dealing with the deeper issue? Now I’m not critising, lets face it who hasn’t thought,

“Well Life would be better if my arse was a size 10 rather than a size 14 (ok 16)”.

But it made me think about my own little bundle of freaky deaky. I would gladly have my right arm removed if it allowed him to get through the (bad) days with less pain and angst.  Its one of the bitter pills you swallow when you come to terms with having a child with Autism, that you would do ANYTHING to take the problem away.

But as I say, I am in no way critising, we all have our fears and worries but in a weird and wonderful kind of way the whole programme demonstrated how insignificant my little dudes issues are. I know how that sounds, particularly as I have been banging on about them for so long!  However it made me think that although the little fella has clear problems/issues/eccentricities – call them what you will, he is a happy, articulate, joyful little creature. He seemed so much happier than many of those in the programme.

Its been an up and down Summer for us here at Chez Loony Tunes, many good days and a few dark ones. Not least the numerous appointments with various medical professionals. But each appointment takes us a step closer to the day this all makes sense (insert gales of laughter from more experienced Parents with children with Autism here!), well ok “some kind of sense”!

We are nervous about next week as the new School year starts, haven’t told the little fella yet as its best not to tell him any sooner than absolutely necessary. New school uniform all bought, and hidden away until next week as don’t want to set him off!

33450_501591156176_347134_n

So, not much more to say for now, and do have to watch Louis and his latest installment!  One last thing though, I watched my little boy perform another series of quite complex maths tests again this week at his lesson. His teacher raised her eyebrows, I looked smug (proud parent moment) and the little fella wolfed down his Giant bar of chocolate, more than fairly earned. This was a particularly nice way to finish the day when earlier in the week we had spent 30 minutes in the shoe shop trying to persuade him to have his feet measured. It made me cry that other kids were in the shop moaning and whinging – all regular kid stuff. But my little man was genuinely deeply distressed, “too many people mummy, too many people,  I want to go, please lets go”  Eventually managed to get shoes, at which point he chilled out and proceeded to play with his Ipad, and I quietly cried in the yogurt aisle in Sainsburys. (not the first time, in fact I think they have my photo up in the staff room)  Perfect moments often come during the darkest times:)

One thought on “Louis Louis Louis Louis!!! Why Louis Theroux and his weird weekends help put Autism in perspective!

Leave a comment